HyperX Fury 8GB 1866MHz Memory Review
   
Home > Reviews > Memory (RAM) Reviews > Gold Award > HyperX Fury 8GB 1866MHz Memory Review

HyperX Fury 8GB 1866MHz Memory Review

June 5th, 2014 Mike Leave a comment Go to comments

Overview

 

Back in February both James and I attended a press event in London held by Kingston. This event was held to announce that Kingston and HyperX were no longer focusing on the same market and that HyperX would be solely aimed at Gamers (about time too 😉 ). It also gave us our first look at the awesome HyperX Cloud Headset and a replacement for the highly successful HyperX Blu range, the brand new HyperX Fury. The range is available in single or dual channel kits, available in 4GB, 8GB or 16GB; 1333MHz, 1600MHz or 1866MHz and in blue, black, white and red. So quite an impressive line-up. HyperX have sent us a HyperX Fury 8GB 1866MHz (HX318C10FRK2/8) to try out. Rather nicely the entire range has a black PCB and our ssample is red to match our Test Rig. So fingers crossed they perform as good as they look.

 

HyperX - Logo Get in the game with HyperX® FURY!
‘Even newbies get up to speed fast, since FURY automatically recognises its host platform and automatically overclocks to the highest frequency published – up to 1866MHz – providing plenty of power for your next deathmatch. FURY’s asymmetric heat spreader design lets you stand out from the “square” crowd. It’s available in black, blue, red and– for the first time in the HyperX line –white, with a black PCB. So your rig can reflect your style and you can show it off with pride – without spending a lot, since FURY is affordably priced. It’s 100 per cent tested and LAN-ready, plus it’s backed by a lifetime
warranty and free technical support.’

 

HyperX Fury 1866MHz 8Gb DDR3 Kit (2x4Gb) - Boxed

 

The HyperX Fury kit arrived in a typical clear plastic wallet, sealed with a Kingston branded sticker (Despite now being HyperX). Usually the part number (for this kit HX318C10FRK2/8) would tell you the specifications (check out this link), but if going by this code the memory MHz would be 3100? Or perhaps HyperX are doing things a little differently…

 

HyperX Fury 1866MHz 8Gb DDR3 Kit (2x4Gb) - Unboxing

 

The packaging is held together by the same specifications sticker, so to get to the Fury inside a delicate operation is required (a little brute force and some tearing, it’s a very sticky sticker!).

 

HyperX Fury 1866MHz 8Gb DDR3 Kit (2x4Gb) - Contents

 

Once out of the wallet and no longer obscured by the labelling, we can easily see how good the HyperX Fury looks.

Also included inside the plastic wallet is a warranty & installation guide. This small leaflet outlines the Kingston Lifetime Warranty and shows a simple guide of how to install memory.

At the time of writing the HyperX Fury 8GB 1866MHz Memory kit is retailing for approximately £60.29 on Amazon or Overclockers UK for £64.99 and comes with a Lifetime Warranty.

 

Specifications/Features

courtesy of Kingston

CAS Latency: 10-10-10-28 2N
Capacity 8GB (4GBx2)
Speed: DDR3-1866 (PC3-14900)
Test Voltage: 1.50-1.65V
Registered/Unbuffered: Unbuffered
Error Checking: Non-ECC
Type: 240-pin DIMM
Warranty: Lifetime
Black PCB

* Additional details available here

 

First Impressions

 

HyperX Fury 1866MHz 8Gb DDR3 Kit (2x4Gb) - Angled

 

Undeniably the metallic red HyperX Fury, with its black PCB look good from any angle, in fact I’d even go as far to say perhaps the best looking ram sticks I’ve come across (of course once installed, you’ll only see the edge!).

 

HyperX Fury 1866MHz 8Gb DDR3 Kit (2x4Gb) - Front HyperX Fury 1866MHz 8Gb DDR3 Kit (2x4Gb) - Back

 

The HyperX Fury features a newly designed heat-spreader, which unlike most isn’t symmetrical. The front of the heat-spreader has the new model name printed in white on the left, whilst on the right the HyperX brand logo is moulded on with a textured finish.

The back of the Fury is more or less the same, except instead of the model and branding, there’s a warranty and model details sticker.

 

HyperX Fury 1866MHz 8Gb DDR3 Kit (2x4Gb) - HyperX Top HyperX Fury 1866MHz 8Gb DDR3 Kit (2x4Gb) - HyperX

 

From the top (the bit you’ll see when installed), we get to see the asymmetrical heat-spreader with the HyperX brand name to the far right.

Looking at the connection side of the Fury allows us to see the all black PCB and the textured detailing of the HyperX logo.

Something else that is clearly noticeable is the height of the heat-spreader. Whilst not classed as low-profile RAM, the HyperX Fury heat-spreader is not much higher than the PCB itself, this should mean that regardless of your CPU cooler, it should fit easily without any compatibility issues.

 

Hardware Installation

 

HyperX Fury 1866MHz 8Gb DDR3 Kit (2x4Gb) - Installed

 

Installation of the HyperX Fury 1866MHz 8Gb DDR3 Kit into our Test Rig was simple enough. The RAM sticks aren’t tall enough to cause any compatibility issues with our test cooler the Raijintek Themis, which should mean no issues with other coolers either.

 

  • Test Rig Setup
Case Cooler Master HAF XB Power Supply Corsair AX760i
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45 GAMING CPU Intel Core i5-4670K
CPU Cooler Raijintek Themis RAM HyperX Fury 1866MHz 8Gb DDR3 Kit
Graphics Card MSI AMD Radeon R9 290 Gaming 4G SSD (mSATA – on-board port) Kingston 60GB mSATA (SMS200S3/60G)

 

The Test Rig booted first time and with the MSI Z87 G45 motherboard left on Auto settings the HyperX Fury DDR3 automatically set its frequency to 1866MHz, with timings of 10-10-10-28 at 1.5 volts. Impressive as there’s no eXtreme Memory Profile (XMP) setting for the Fury, it just works! 🙂

However with a little playing around with the timings using Intel XTU, the HyperX Fury can easily be overclocked from 1866MHz to not only 2133MHz, but 2400MHz as well! Which for a set of sticks rated at 1866MHz and with an SRRP of £60 is pretty stunning. See AIDA64 Benchmark Results below for full details of timings etc.

 

Testing Methodology/Setup

 

The HyperX Fury 8GB 1866MHz RAM Kit was tested as part of our normal Test Rig, using Windows 7 64Bit (Service Pack 1) with all relevant Drivers installed. Prime95 (Blend) was used to test stability, whilst Intel XTU for overclocking and the following benchmarks were also used.

 

Hardware Performance

 

1866MHz (10-10-10-30)

1866MHz (10-10-10-28)

2133MHz (10-10-10-28)

2133MHz (12-13-12-35)

1866MHz (10-10-10-28)

2400MHz (13-15-13-39)

 

  • AIDA64 Benchmark Results (1866MHz)
  • Memory Read Write Copy Latency
    Kingston HyperX Beast 8GB 2400MHz @ 11-13-13-30 35815 37514 34726 46.8 ns
    Avexir Blitz 1.1 Original 8GB 2400MHz @ 10-12-12-31 34247 35303 31127 46.7 ns
    HyperX Fury 8GB 1866MHz @ 10-10-10-28 26870 27494 24500 55.8 ns
    Avexir Core 8GB 1600MHz @ 9-9-9-24 23134 23751 21781 58.9 ns

     

    The image above from AIDA64 shows that the throughput and the latency of the HyperX Fury 8GB 1866MHz memory is more or less in the correct range for its price range, which is good. The real magic in the Fury modules is when you overclock them.

     

  • AIDA64 Benchmark Results (Overclocking Results)
  • Memory Read Write Copy Latency
    HyperX Fury 8GB 2400MHz @ 13-15-13-39 33282 34812 29518 53.4 ns
    HyperX Fury 8GB 2133MHz @ 12-13-12-35 30325 31169 27566 55.1 ns
    HyperX Fury 8GB 1866MHz @ 10-10-10-28 26870 27494 24500 55.8 ns

     

    After adjusting the HyperX Fury timings (as seen above), you can get a huge performance gain. Admittedly the timings are a lot looser than I’d have liked, but the figures speak for themselves.

     

  • Gaming Related Benchmarks
  •  

    To give us some idea of the effect the increase in memory speed has on Gaming, the benchmarks below have been run at 1866MHz, 2133MHz and 2400MHz using the HyperX Fury modules. We actually changed the benchmarks a little in an attempt to look a little deeper into the topic of whether an increase in Memory speed does truly affect FPS to any real degree. Let’s see shall we…

     

    TEST SYSTEM: MSI Z87 G45/ Intel Core i5-4670K/ MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G (1107MHz Core/5000MHz Memory)

    Memory 3DMark (FireStrike) Batman Arkham Origins Tomb Raider Metro Last Light
    HyperX Fury 8GB 1866MHz @ 10-10-10-28 8948 146 81.00 73.00
    HyperX Fury 8GB 2133MHz @ 12-13-12-35 8972 145 79.30 74.00
    HyperX Fury 8GB 2400MHz @ 13-15-13-39 8996 146 79.40 74.00

     

    As you can see faster memory does make a small difference within the FireStrike test, but for all else it’s not far off the same. The reason for this? Perhaps the timings are too slack on the overclocks to give any real benefit or perhaps the advantage of high speed memory (in terms of Gaming performance) is somewhat pointless! 😉

     

    Final Thoughts

     

    The HyperX Fury 8GB 1866MHz RAM kit is a great start for the HyperX range. They arrived solidly packed in a clear plastic wallet. Look good in the wallet, but in hand feel well made and look even better.

    With a wide choice of colours available (red, blue, black or white), means they will suit any rig out there, whilst the low height of the heat-spreader means you’ll be unlikely to have any compatibility issues with even the biggest CPU cooler!

    The HyperX Fury 8GB 1866MHz perform well at their native speed, but slacken those timings and the RAM happily runs at 2400MHz (with a little help from Intel XTU) without even having to change the voltag! Of course even at this speed it doesn’t perform quite as well as dedicated 2400MHz rated RAM modules, but the fact it comes close is amazing!

    I’ll admit I like the HyperX Fury, they look good, offer good performance and at approximately £60 are priced well, but what really gets me excited about them isn’t even the product itself! It’s the promise of the now flying solo HyperX brand giving us an even better product in the guise of a new Genesis or Predator range!

     

    Verdict

    Please Share, Like & Comment below, we really value your thoughts and opinions…



    Where possible we always use Amazon’s price for Value…
      Design/Quality pcGameware awards the HyperX Fury 8GB 1866MHz a Gold
    Performance
    Value
    Overall

     

    Many thanks to Kingston for providing this sample for review

     



    1. SviatA
      October 30th, 2015 at 13:53 | #1

      Well, the design is really great. I have a 4GB stick of Kingston HyperX Fury, but with a different color (blue). I don’t know why did I choose that, as the red one or a white stick would look much better (and the bloody pc24/de doesn’t show what color you choose exactly). The only problem is that I have 4GB, and Win7 x86 cannot use all of that memory.
      So I need another 4GB, but will it work fine if I get a differently colored stick? I mean, memory is a very delicate thing, so two sticks should have the same frequency, the same stepping, and even they should be from the same pack, to work perfectly if coupled.

      • James
        October 30th, 2015 at 14:47 | #2

        you should be fine as long as you match the part number, I’ve seen Kingston themselves mixing colours on demo systems! 😉

    2. Steve Smith
      November 29th, 2015 at 21:28 | #3

      Really liked the review found it very useful, but for one thing. I had heard that these will not work on an AMD motherboard, is this true, are they only for Intel motherboards?? Looking to install these on a new build for my Son on an MSI 970 Gaming AMD socket AM3+ motherborad

      • James
        November 30th, 2015 at 08:34 | #4

        Not too sure what you’ve have heard, but I would have no idea why they wouldn’t work!

    3. Alex
      December 8th, 2015 at 10:50 | #5

      @Steve Smith
      im running a 16GB(2x8GB) kit on a M5A99X Evo R2.0 AMD motherboard and they work perfectly have never had a single issue with them, so they should work fine on any amd system as long as the memory speed is supported by the motherboard

      • James
        December 8th, 2015 at 11:57 | #6

        Thanks Alex! 😉

    4. mel
      June 5th, 2016 at 18:04 | #7

      can i know the difference between savage and fury and does it support and runs on my pc which is mobo MS 7597 and amd phenom x ii x2 555 on 1800 mhz hyper x savage

      • James
        June 6th, 2016 at 07:31 | #8

        For that MB you want to use Fury memory as it’s DDR3 x2 4GB would be the best solution at 1333MHz

    5. Riley
      August 16th, 2016 at 12:39 | #9

      Hi. I’m currently using:

      Processor: AMD A10-7700K APU with Radeon R7 Graphics 3.99GHz
      Sytem type: 64bit OS
      RAM: 4GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 HX318C10FB/4
      Motherboard: MSI A88X-G45 Gaming

      I recently bought a new 4GB RAM(same HyperX model and number) to add with my current 4GB RAM, but after installed on the RAM slot (fourth slot. The old 4GB RAM is installed on the 2nd slot, as asked by MSI mobo), my pc won’t turn on(the cpu is on but the monitor doesn’t at all). I uninstall the new RAM and left the old one, then my pc is able to turn on again. I uninstalled my old RAM, then installed the new RAM on the 2nd slot without the old RAM, my pc is unable to turn on again. If it helps, with the old RAM, i can see two digits number on my motherboard hardware ie “53”, but with the additional new RAM installed, the “d7” appeared replacing the previous two digits.

      As you may predict, I’m not a tech savvy person, please advice in simplest English possible. Thank you!

      • James
        August 16th, 2016 at 14:20 | #10

        Well from what I can see of it the new memory is simply incompatible with the MB (the reason for that is not known to me!). You maybe need to buy a pair of new sticks and try that, maybe send the other new one back. Error code 53 is a memory error, not sure what d7 is…

        Hope that helps a little

        Look here (page 1-33) for additional information: http://download.msi.com/archive/mnu_exe/E7900v1.0.zip