Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8GB Kit (2x4GB) – DDR3 1866MHz Review
   
Home > Reviews > Memory (RAM) Reviews > Gold Award > Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8GB Kit (2x4GB) – DDR3 1866MHz Review

Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8GB Kit (2x4GB) – DDR3 1866MHz Review

February 15th, 2013 James Leave a comment Go to comments

Overview

 

Kingston have been around since 1987 and we have seen numerous memory modules from them in the past, all of which have performed well. But today we will get to look at a new memory kit from Kingston that we are unlikely to see again, as this is the Kingston HyperX 10th Year Anniversary Edition!

These modules are available in 4GB, 8GB, 16GB & 32GB kits with speeds up to 2400MHz. This particular 8MB kit (KHX18C9X3K2/8X) consists of x2 4GB modules with a rated speed of 1866MHz and timings of 9-11-9-27 at 1.65v via its eXtreme Memory Profile (XMP) 1.3 profile.

 

Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary - box Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary box - part number

 

I was hoping that the 10th Anniversary modules packaging would be given a bit of an overhaul, but unfortunately the packaging is the all too common plastic wallet variety! But I will say that peering at the modules within, they look pretty damn nice…

Always pay particular attention to the part number (especially when purchasing memory) as small variations in part numbers can mean big changes in performance.

 

Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary - box open Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary - box contents

 

Once a small cut is made in the side of the sticker that holds the wallet together, you get to see the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition modules in the metal (shiny!).

Also included inside the plastic wallet is a warranty & installation guide. This small leaflet outlines the Kingston Lifetime Warranty and shows a simple guide of how to install memory.

At the time of writing the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8GB Kit (2x4GB) – DDR3 1866MHz kit is retailing for approximately £50 and comes with a Lifetime Warranty.

 

Specifications/Features

courtesy of Kingston Technology

CL(IDD) 9 cycles
Row Cycle Time (tRCmin) 49.5ns (min.)
Refresh to Active/Refresh Command Time (tRFCmin) 160ns (min.)
Row Active Time (tRASmin) 36ns (min.)
Maximum Operating Power 2.400 W* (per module)
UL Rating 94 V – 0
Operating Temperature 0o C to 85o C
Storage Temperature -55o C to +100o C

* Power will vary depending on the SDRAM used.

JEDEC standard 1.5V (1.425V ~ 1.575V) Power Supply
VDDQ = 1.5V (1.425V ~ 1.575V)
667MHz fCK for 1333Mb/sec/pin
8 independent internal bank
Programmable CAS Latency: 9, 8, 7, 6
Programmable Additive Latency: 0, CL – 2, or CL – 1 clock
Programmable CAS Write Latency(CWL) = 7 (DDR3-1333)
8-bit pre-fetch
Burst Length: 8 (Interleave without any limit, sequential with starting address “000” only), 4 with tCCD = 4 which does not allow seamless read or write [either on the fly using A12 or MRS]
Bi-directional Differential Data Strobe
Internal(self) calibration : Internal self calibration through ZQ pin (RZQ : 240 ohm ± 1%)
On Die Termination using ODT pin
Average Refresh Period 7.8us at lower than TCASE 85°C, 3.9us at 85°C < TCASE < 95°C
Asynchronous Reset
PCB : Height 1.18” (30mm) double sided component

* Additional details available here

 

First Impressions

 

Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary

 

“Stylish. Silver. Solid. Kingston’s HyperX® 10th Anniversary Edition memory celebrates ten years of killer performance with a sleek silver heatspreader. Its low profile fits under large CPU coolers; it may be small but its blazing speed leaves the competition behind. This Intel XMP Ready memory boasts higher performing frequencies, timings and voltage that are attainable by simply enabling Intel’s Extreme Memory Profile. It’s covered by a lifetime warranty, free technical support and legendary Kingston® reliability.”

That’s what Kingston have to say about their new HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition memory modules, and what we have here at pcGameware is the 8GB (2x4GB) 1866Mhz kit. From my point of view the first thing that I notice and really rather like is the lower profile of this kit. Memory doesn’t really get that hot, so we don’t need massive heat spreaders, especially as they only foul on today’s large CPU Coolers. These 10th Anniversary modules are just 30mm tall, not the shortest modules we have seen (Corsair Vengenace LP) but the second shortest, this I like.

They look good too, the Silver styling is not something I have seen before, but I like that too and it’s a good neutral colour for the internals of a Rig.

 

Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary - front Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary - back

 

The front of the modules feature a white HyperX logo on the left hand side, over on the right we find a subtle, yet smart 10th Anniversary logo also in white.

The back of the modules feature a Kingston logo on the left in white and on the right we find a small sticker that shows the technical specifications of the RAM modules. NOTE: WARRANTY VOID IF REMOVED

Overall I would say the the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition modules are a very smart, dare I say classy, set of RAM modules. I particularly like the relatively short height of the modules (30mm) as this ensures a higher degree of compatibility with today’s large CPU Coolers.

 

Hardware Installation

 

Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary - installed (top) Kingston HyperX- 0th Anniversary - installed (side)

 

Installation of the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition RAM into My Test Rig was simple enough, but this was helped by the fact that I use a Liquid CPU Cooler (Corsair H100). This type of cooler normally has a very low profile in comparison to a more conventional air cooler.

As the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition modules have a relatively low profile, I would say that you are unlikely to run into any interference issues with large CPU Coolers. But please check to the best of your ability first…

 

Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Auto: (1333MHz) Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary XMP Profile 1: (1866MHz)

 

My Test Rig booted first time and with my motherboard (ASRock Fatal1ty Z77 Professional) set to Auto the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition modules set themselves to the basic 1333MHz setting (image above left).

Looking at the BIOS/UEFI I could see that the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition modules had two eXtreme Memory Profiles (XMP) to choose from:

  • XMP 1.3 Profile 1: DDR3-1866 9-11-9-27 1.65V
  • XMP 1.3 Profile 2: DDR3-1600 9-9-9-27 1.65V

After proving stability at 1333MHz, it was back into the BIOS/UEFI to set the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition modules to their maximum speed of 1866MHz. This was done by setting the Load XMP Setting to XMP 1.2 Profile 1 (image above right). After that the Rig was re-booted and went straight into Windows with no problems. OK, on with the testing…

IMPORTANT NOTE: Just because you have RAM modules capable of high overclocked frequencies (especially 2400MHz and above), doesn’t mean that they will run at that speed as the memory controller is part of the CPU (Sandy Bridge & Ivy Bridge).

 

Testing Methodology/Setup

 

The Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8GB Kit (2x4GB) – DDR3 1866MHz was tested as part of My Test Rig, using Windows 7 64Bit (Service Pack 1) with all relevant Drivers installed. Prime95 (Blend) was used to test stability and the following benchmarks were also used.

 

Hardware Performance

 

Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8GB Auto: (1333MHz)

Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8GB @ 1333MHz

Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8GB XMP Profile 1: (1866MHz)

Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8GB @ 1866MHz

 

AIDA64 Benchmark Results

Memory Read Write Copy Latency
Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer 8GB 1600MHz (8-8-8-24) / inc a 2% OC 19769 21732 21976 40.8
Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8GB 1866MHz (9-11-9-27) 21545 21851 24020 37.9
Kingston HyperX Predator 16 GB 2133MHz @ 11-12-11-30 21757 22192 25382 38.7
TeamGroup Xtreem LV Series 8GB 2400MHz (11-11-11-28) 23523 22720 26717 35.0
Kingston HyperX Beast 8GB 2400MHz (11-13-13-30) 23536 22626 26879 35.1

 

The first two images show the performance results from AIDA64 for the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition modules running at 1333MHz (default/Auto) and at 1866MHz (XMP Profile 1). As you can see there’s a whole world of difference in performance, you certainly wouldn’t want to leave your BIOS/UEFI on the Auto setting… 😉

As you can see the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition sits comfortably between the 1600MHz kit and the 2133MHz kit, also worth noting is the slightly better Latency at 37.9, fairing better overall than the 2133Mhz kit; likely due to the 10th Anniversary’s tighter timings.

 

Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8GB XMP Overclocked: (1920MHz)

Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8GB Overclocked @ 1920MHz

 

After some decent figures in the AIDA64 benchmarks it was time to see if I could push the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition a little harder. So I started to play with the Base Clock (default 100MHz). After numerous tests I ended up with a Base Clock of 103MHz, the net result of this is that the modules are now running at 1920MHz at the default voltage of 1.65 volts. Of course by upping your Base Clock you will be upping your CPU Clock speed so please bear this in mind when you are overclocking the Base Clock (BClk).

I have never been able to get a stable 103 BClk before, so hats off to Kingston for creating what appears to be some super stable 1866 modules. I did also try to overclock the modules to 2000MHz but with no joy and I didn’t want to add any more voltage as 1.65 volts is about the upper limit you want to use for either a Sandy Bridge or Ivy Bridge CPU. Intel recommend a memory voltage of just 1.5 volts as the Memory Controller Hub (MCH) is on-board the CPU itself.

Now let’s take a look at the effect that this high speed memory has on our Gaming related benchmarks.

 

Gaming Related Benchmarks

To give us some idea of the effect the increase in memory speed has on Gaming the benchmarks have been run at both 1333MHz and 1866MHz using the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition modules.

Memory 3DMark 11 Unigine Heaven Metro 2033
Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8 GB 1333MHz @ 9-9-9-27 9779 1328 41.00
Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8 GB 1866MHz@ 11-13-13-30 9880 1329 41.33

 

As you can see from the 2 best gaming related benchmarks (Unigine Heaven & Metro 2033), there is no real discernible difference between running the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition RAM at 1333MHz and 1866MHz, although with memory we have seen this before. Only 3DMark 11 shows the improvements that have been made with an increase of approximately 1%.

From a Gaming point of view, there’s no compelling reason to push much beyond a good 8GB 1600MHz kit. If on the other hand you want the ultimate in performance (the increase in bandwidth can clearly be seen in the AIDA64 test) or if you have another reason for wanting high memory bandwidth then the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 1866MHz kit may be for you.

 

Final Thoughts

 

We’ve seen some great memory from Kingston recently most notably the Beast modules reviewed last month, earning themselves a well deserved Gold award. My only concern with those modules was the taller than necessary heat spreaders making the modules less compatible with modern large Air CPU Coolers.

Enter the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8GB Kit (2x4GB) – DDR3 1866MHz. These modules came in the standard memory wallet type packaging and while the modules are well protected I would have thought Kingston could have come up with something a little more impressive for its 10th Aniverssary, but…

Anyway what lies within the packaging is a truly great set of RAM modules with a rated speed of 1866MHz and timings of 9-11-9-27. The modules look great with their silver heat-spreaders and thanks to the colour are likely to go well with any rig build, in fact I would say they are also likely to add a touch of class to any build! The other bonus here is that the modules are not too tall, at just 30mm they are the second lowest profile modules that we have seen. This means that these HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition modules are likely to not interfere with the installation of today’s large CPU Coolers and that’s definitely good news.

As we have seen before the upgrade to high speed RAM has little impact on Gaming and of course the lower the speed the less likely you are to notice the difference. I would therefore suggest that you go for one of the faster speeds (1600, 1866, 2133 & 2400MHz available) to maximize performance.

The Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition overclocked well allowing me to raise my Base Clock (BClk) to 103MHz (default 100MHz) boosting the memory speed up to 1920MHz, this is actually the highest BClk that I have ever been able to set on my motherboard. This shows that there’s some good flexibility to be had with these new 10th Anniversary modules from Kingston.

At the time of writing the price of approximately £50 is OK for an 8GB 1866MHz kit, but certainly not cheap, although this is a Limited Edition kit of course! If you’re in the market for an upgrade above 1333/1600MHz and looking for a 1866MHz kit then the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8GB Kit (2x4GB) – DDR3 1866MHz should be near the top of your list. But if you can spend a little more then the 2133/2400MHz kits will (somewhat obviously!) provide far more memory bandwidth and better performance.

 

Verdict

 

 

Design/Quality pcGameware awards the Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition 8GB Kit (2x4GB) – DDR3 1866MHz a Gold
Performance
Value
Overall

 


  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.