Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB (2x8GB) Kit Review
   
Home > Reviews > Memory (RAM) Reviews > Silver Award > Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB (2x8GB) Kit Review

Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB (2x8GB) Kit Review

August 5th, 2015 Iain Leave a comment Go to comments

Overview

 

Today at pcG we are taking a look at more RAM, there are a lot of DDR4 memory kits available on the market these days but now more so than ever due to the new Intel CPU/chipset (Skylake) being released very soon. The next set of RAM we are looking at is the Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit and we will be testing this in our ASRock Fatal1ty X99X Killer / 3.1 motherboard and Test Rig. This new set of DDR4 RAM features 2x8GB modules for dual channel support and has memory timings of 16-16-16-39 at a top rated speed of 2400MHz. The memory modules run at 1.2v and come with a limited lifetime warranty. The Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 Kits also comes in quad 16GB (4GB x 4), 32GB (8GB x 4) and dual 8GB (4GB x 2) kits.

 

Crucial logo large
‘‘Performance memory for everyone
Serious gamers are serious about our award-winning Ballistix and Ballistix Tracer products. At Crucial, we engineer these products to deliver the fastest, most reliable memory for gaming and performance enthusiasts.’’

 

Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz - box front Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz - box back

 

The Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit arrived at pcG in very recognizable plastic packaging that we are used to from Crucial. The memory modules are clearly visible which is always a bonus as you can see what you are actually buying and not having to go by an image printed on a box. The sticker on the front of the packaging lets us know that the modules inside are 16GB (2 x 8GB), DDR4, 2400MHz and have an operating voltage of 1.2v. The rest of the sticker is made up of the bar code, product code (BLS2C8G4D240FSA) and the website support URL.

The back of the packaging features a cardboard insert which is visible through the plastic. The featured information is all about the other Memory products in the Ballistix range from Crucial. In eight different languages we can see that there is a Sport Series, Tactical Series and an Elite Series. This insert is standard for most of the Crucial memory modules range and there is nothing else new to be found here.

 

Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz - box detail Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz - box open

 

The packaging is very easy to open which seems to be the trend these days, thank god! Instead of using a wide range of dangerous power tools from your granddads garden shed you can easily pop open the plastic blister. Once opened we find the two memory modules sitting in a separate plastic tray which can easily be removed. 🙂

At the time of review, the Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit (BLS2C8G4D240FSA) is retailing on Amazon for approximately £92.00 and comes with a lifetime warranty.

 

Specifications/Features

courtesy of Crucial

 

Brand: Ballistix
Form Factor: UDIMM
Capacity: 16GB kit (8GBx2)
Warranty: Limited Lifetime
Specs: DDR4 PC4-19200 • 16-16-16 • Unbuffered • NON-ECC • DDR4-2400 • 1.2V • 1024Meg x 64 •
Series: Ballistix Sport
ECC: NON-ECC
Kit Quantity: 1
Voltage: 1.2V
Bullet Features: Designed for extreme enthusiasts, gamers and overclockers
DIMM Type: Unbuffered
Component Configuration x8 based

 

Crucial Ballistix Elite Series Memory

Approximately 5.25 in. by 1.18 in. (133.35 mm by 30 mm)

 

Performance memory for the rest of us.
– Designed for entry-level and mainstream users
– Integrated heat spreaders
– Limited lifetime warranty
– Proven stability and reliability
– Crucial: a trusted name in memory

Performance memory for everyone.
Serious gamers are serious about our award-winning Ballistix and Ballistix Tracer products. At Crucial, we engineer these products to deliver the fastest, most reliable memory for gaming and performance enthusiasts.

But why should the most hardcore gamers have all of the fun?

If you‘re new to performance memory and like what Ballistix has to offer, the Crucial Ballistix Sport Series is a great place to start. This line was created for mainstream users and general enthusiasts. They feature heat spreaders for thermal performance — along with standard timings and voltages, making this reliable, quality module ideal for maximum stability and compatibility.

Easy installation.
Unlike traditional Ballistix products, those industry -standard specifications require no special or tricky BIOS configuration. That means this product installs easily, so you can get up and running quickly. And, it’s priced affordably—so you can have your fun and stay on budget.

Available in both DDR2, DDR3, and DDR4 in the most common and popular speeds and densities, you’ll be sure to find a product that suits your needs. And because it supports today’s latest AMD and Intel platforms (including SandyBridge), Ballistix Sports Series memory works upon installation.

Guaranteed Compatible.
Crucial Ballistix Sports Series memory is backed by our outstanding service and support, enjoys a limited lifetime warranty, and is guaranteed compatible.

 

* Additional details available here

 

First Impressions

 

Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz - stacked

 

My first impressions of the Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit was one of simplicity and I do not mean that in a bad way. I have reviewed a few different RAM Kits over the last month or so and they have all had their own style and design angle, ‘fiery, aggressive, military and Armour’ are some of the words that I have been using recently, but, here we have simply, simplicity! The Black PCB with the gold contact points and the floating shield like heatspreader are a design plus in my books. The Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 Kit looks like the sort of RAM that a spy would be using, something light and slim and covert if I may say so… and I rather like it! 🙂

 

Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz - front Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz - back

 

Taking a look at the front of the module your eyes are immediately drawn to the exposed black PCB board. It reminds me of a massive metropolis at night with the city lights twinkling in the dark (I am the romantic one here at pcG BTW (ED: really, come on!)). The matte silver heatspreader just floats of the surface of the PCB board and the Ballistix Sport DDR4 logo sits right in the middle of it. Each corner of the heatspreader has a shiny ribbed bumper giving it a very tactile feel.

The back of the Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 Kit is near nigh identical to the front apart from the two sticker adorning each side. The left sticker has all the bar codes and where it was manufactured and the right sticker has all the specifications such as product code, speed, timings and voltage etc.

 

Hardware Installation

 

Installing the Crucial Ballistix Sport modules is a very easy task and is much the same as any other RAM that we have installed here at pcG. All it takes is for you to line up the slot in the connector to the DIMM slot on the motherboard and gently push into place. As you may have noticed we are using a Corsair Hydro Series H110i GT AIO water cooler in our Test Rig, this is to give us more clearance room around the CPU Socket and because the Intel Core i7-5820K is a big and toasty CPU! 😉

 

Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz- installed

 

The Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz is a dual memory Kit and comes with 2 x 8GB (16GB) modules so they need to be inserted into one side of the motherboard only. One important piece of information though is that the two modules need to be placed in the A1 and B1 slots (of our test ASRock Fatal1ty X99X Killer motherboard) for maximum performance. They will still work in C1 and D1 but may not perform as well. Incidentally the Crucial Ballistix Sport modules would not work in the A2, B2, C2 or D2 slots…

 

Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz- close up Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz- angle Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz- side

 

  • Test Rig Setup


Case Cooler Master HAF XB Power Supply Corsair AX760i
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty X99X Killer / 3.1 CPU Intel Core i7-5830K
CPU Cooler Corsair Hydro Series H110i GT RAM Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit
Graphics Card XFX R9 290X Black DD Edition SSD HyperX FURY 120GB SSD

 

I had no problem booting up my Test Rig and after an initial boot I went into the ASRock UEFI to check the setting for the Crucial Ballistix Sport modules. You can see from the screenshot below that the two modules were indeed in RAM slots A1 and B1 and they were actually running at they’re maximum frequency of 2400MHz. This meant that I did not need to go into the UEFI OC Tweaker to make any changes but I have included (below) a screenshot of the OC Tweaker for your benefit. As you can see the Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 RAM is indeed running at its XMP (Profile 1) setting of 2400MHz with memory timings of 16-16-16-39 and that the CPU is running at our normal test speed of 4.0GHz which was changed in the XMP OC Setting.

 

ASRock Falal1ty X99X-load optimzed defaults ASRock Falal1ty X99X-OC Tweaker

 

Testing Methodology/Setup

 

The Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit was tested on our new X99 based platform shown above, using Windows 7 64Bit (Service Pack 1) with all relevant Drivers installed. Prime95 (Blend) was used to test stability and the following benchmarks were also used.

 

Hardware Performance

 

AIDA64- Crucial Ballista Sport 2400MHz

Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit (16-16-16-39)

 

  • AIDA64 Benchmark Results
  • Memory Type Platform Read Write Copy Latency
    Patriot Viper DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit @ 15-15-15-35 DDR4 X99 (Quad) 40550 37050 45891 71.9 ns
    G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit @ 15-15-15-35 DDR4 X99 (Quad) 40502 36974 45615 72.0 ns
    Crucial Ballistix Elite DDDR4 2666MHz 16GB Kit @ 16-17-17-36 DDR4 X99 (Dual) 35829 19186 32148 73.9 ns
    Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit @ 16-16-16-39 DDR4 X99 (Dual) 35151 19151 31422 77.1 ns
    Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 2133MHz 16GB Kit @ 9-11-11-31 DDR3 Z97 32180 33437 31298 48.9 ns
    HyperX Savage DDR3 2400MHz 8GB @ 11-13-14-32 DDR3 Z97 33409 34811 29523 48.9 ns
    Avexir Raiden Series DDR3 2133MHz 8GB Kit @ 9-11-10-27 DDR3 Z97 30478 31445 28178 48.9 ns

     

    As you can see from the AIDA64 results on the X99 the Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHZ 16GB Kit performs slightly better than the Z97 dual memory DDR3 kits (Corsair Dominator Platinum and HyperX Savage). The Crucial Ballistix Elite DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit which sits above it in the table does not pip it by a much and considering that the Elite is faster then the Sport fares pretty well up against it…

     

  • Gaming Related Benchmarks
  •  

    The Z97 based DDR3 RAM has been left in for comparison purposes as of course we have changed quite a lot here (new MB, new CPU and obviously new RAM). You would assume that the new X99 DDR4 memory would kick butt in percentages! There’s fluctuations in the results but all are really down to the change in Drivers (over time) and or just the margin of error. For now though let’s compare the Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit to the other dual channel DDR4 memory Kit which is the Crucial Ballistix Elite DDR4 2666MHz 16Gb Kit. Quite literally there is hardly anything in it, the Sport is only 0.2% higher than the Elite on the 3DMark (FireStrike). The rest of the benchmarks the Sport is a little less than the Elite (Batman 5% slower, Tomb Raider 3% slower, Unigine Heaven 2% slower and Metro Last Light is virtually identical), (all these percentages are approximate).

     

    TEST SYSTEM: ASRock Fatal1ty X99X Killer/ Intel Core i7-5820K/ XFX R9 290X Black DD Edition

    Memory 3DMark (FireStrike) Batman Arkham Origins Tomb Raider Unigine Heaven Metro Last Light
    HyperX Savage DDR3 2400MHz 8GB 9593 178 87.9 1422 81
    Patriot Viper DDR4 2400MHz 16GB 10421 169 88.4 1411 79.67
    Crucial Ballistix Elite DDDR4 2666MHz 16GB 10690 169 92.4 1379 80.56
    G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB 10704 165 91.2 1356 81.58
    Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB 10709 161 89.6 1355 80.32

     

    All these percentages are not going to make a world of difference to your Gaming, faster memory does not give you a better FPS in Games as we have discussed before. What will make a difference is the amount you want to spend on your memory modules and what it looks like inside of your Gaming Rig. The Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit may not illuminate or be adorned in fancy coloured heatspreaders, but it does give you solid stable memory platform with a simplistic (yet elegant) design all at a fair price (approximately £92.00), what more do you want…

     

    Final Thoughts

     

    Covert looks, simple design and fast stable memory is what the Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit brings to the table and at such a good price even your budget conscious spy will be happy… 🙂

    The Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit arrived on my doorstep in the all seeing plastic packaging that you know and love from Crucial. Easy to open as you would expect nowadays whilst you reminisce about the old days of blood letting plastic blister packages.

    The Crucial Ballistix Sport modules have a very simple look to them, essentially they are mainly Black PCB’s with floating heatspreaders on them. You may think this sounds boring but au contraire (on the contrary for the non French speaking!) this is what makes gives the modules their edge. It was the simple design that stood out for me and gave the RAM that sleek Spy look to them. For this price (£92.00) you cannot expect illumination so I wont even get on my high horse about that (ED: well that makes a change!) and neither should you…

    So enough about design and world domination (maybe I did not cover that, oops!) how does the Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit perform. Compared to the only other dual DDR4 RAM which is the Crucial Ballistix Elite DDR4 2666MHz 16GB you can see it is slightly slower in the benchmark percentages apart from the 3DMark which is a percentage so small it is hardly worth mentioning but I will (0.2% Higher!). These figures will not likely affect your Gaming in any way or give you better performance but are there to show you that the RAM is more than adequate to be a part of your Gaming Rig.

    At the end of the day the Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit is a fine set of memory modules for your new Z170 or existing X99 platform. A very easy set-up from the start giving you good stable memory at a very affordable price…

     

    Verdict

    Please Share, Like & Comment below, we really value your thoughts and opinions…



    Where possible we always use Amazon’s price for Value…
      Design/Quality pcGameware awards the Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit a Silver
    Performance
    Value
    Overall

     

    Many thanks to Crucial for providing this sample for review

     


    1. Peter S
      September 20th, 2017 at 09:49 | #1

      The review would be much more useful if you tested the overclocking capabilities.