G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit Review
   
Home > Reviews > Memory (RAM) Reviews > Silver Award > G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit Review

G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit Review

July 31st, 2015 Iain Leave a comment Go to comments

Overview

 

We are reviewing RAM again here at pcG and this is of course because soon the Intel CPU/chipset (Skylake) will be with us. So today’s DDR4 Kit is the G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit, this is the third review of at least a dozen or so new DDR4 modules that will be gracing the doorstep of pcG over the coming weeks. This is also coinciding with pcG looking at Intel’s X99 platform and the associated range of Socket LGA 2011-3 CPUs (like our own test Intel Core i7-5820K) which also supports DDR4.

The G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB kit features four modules for quad channel support, with memory timings of 15-15-15-35 at its maximum rated speed of 2400MHz. Not only does the G.Skill Ripjaws feature some impressive specifications they also sport a very unique and exciting design. Being DDR4 this is available to us at 1.2-1.35v, instead of the more common 1.5-1.65v seen with DDR3. The G.Skill Ripjaws memory comes with a Limited lifetime warranty and have been tested for quality assurance.

 

G.Skill Logo
‘G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 series performance DDR4 memory is designed for the ultimate experience on the latest Intel X99 platform! Whether you are processing large amounts of data or intense gaming, experience smooth system performance with the newest next-generation PC memory technology! All Ripjaws 4 memory kits are tested with G.SKILL’s extensive suite of testing software to ensure maximum performance and stability. Make Ripjaws 4 the ideal choice for your DDR4 system!’

 

G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz - box front G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz - box back

 

The G.Skill Ripjaws arrived at pcG in a rather exciting looking black box. The nice part about the packaging is that there is a cut-out with a plastic window revealing one of the four modules that can be found inside. The shiny G.Skill Ripjaws module is all red and fiery and looks like it is about to melt its way out of the box! Also, the front of the box has the G.Skill logo in the top left hand corner, but, it is the Ripjaws 4 logo that takes center stage on the packaging with its fiery illuminated 4 and letter R. Looking at the design one would assume we may have some sort of illumination here!? (we will see). Apart from this we can see that the modules are DDR4 and that they support Intel XMP 2.0. The finish on the packaging is very cool, with a matte feel to it and the main logos embossed and shiny. 🙂

Looking at the back we have the same design and logos as the front and the statement which can be found at the top of this page next to the G.Skill logo. The back also features the specifications stickers which tell us the product code for the modules and that they are DDR4, 2400MHz, 4096MB x 4, 1.2v and that they have memory timings of 15-15-15-35.

 

G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz - packaging G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz - box open G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz - packaging open

 

The box for the G.Skill Ripjaws opens at the bottom and this then reveals the inner packaging that contains the four memory modules. The four G.Skill Ripjaws modules are contained in a plastic blister which can be easily opened with your hands (this seems to be the norm these days, thank god!) and not with the use of scissors, chainsaws or other sharp motorised equipment! Once opened the plastic blister lies flat with two modules in each side and there is also a little G.Skill sticker for you to wear with pride… 😉

At the time of review, the G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit (F42400C15Q16GRR) is available from Amazon for approximately £118 and comes with a lifetime warranty.

 

Specifications/Features

courtesy of G.Skill

 

Series: Ripjaws 4
Memory Type: DDR4
Capacity: 16GB (4GBx4)
Multi-Channel Kit: Quad Channel Kit
Tested Speed: 2400MHz
Tested Latency: 15-15-15-35-2N
Tested Voltage: 1.20v
Registered/unbuffered: Unbuffered
Error Checking: Non-ECC
SPD Speed: 2133MHz
SPD Voltage: 1.20v
Fan Included: No
Height: 40 mm / 1.58 inch
Warranty: Limited Lifetime
Features: Intel XMP 2.0 (Extreme Memory Profile) Ready

 

4th Generation Ripjaws Series memory for the latest DDR4 Systems!
Ripjaws 4 series DDR4 memory are validated for compatibility with most X99 motherboards under a series of rigorous tests in quad channel memory operations. It’s guaranteed to provide the best-in-class performance, compatibility, and stability with the widest range of X99 motherboards.

Faster Transfer Speed
Starting from 2133MHz as standard frequency, DDR4 memory delivers much higher bandwidth than previous DDR memory. You can enjoy a faster computing experience for gaming, video & image editing, rendering, and other professional applications.

Extreme Speed in Overclocking
G.SKILL always strive to break past limitations. Ripjaws 4 series is the fastest DDR4 memory in the world, including an exclusive DDR4-3333MHz memory kit. Furthermore, Ripjaws 4 is the first DDR4 memory to break the DDR4 4GHz in overclocking, reaching an incredible speed of 4004MHz. Whether you are an PC performance seeker or a overclocker, Ripjaws 4 is your best choice.

More Power Efficient
Designed with a low voltage of 1.2V at DDR4 standard, this lowers the memory voltage requirement by 20% from DDR3 memory kits! Now your system can perform even faster without becoming an expensive appliance heater.

Timeless Classic Stylish Redesign – Looking Great without Oversized Heatspreaders
Confidently knowing your system is a combination of beauty and brawn, Ripjaws 4’s new dashingly sleek heatspreader keeps your system cool and well cooled. Looks isn’t everything, but your rig should look great and perform great at the same time. And don’t worry; Ripjaws 4 has a module height of 40mm – the same height as previous Ripjaws family modules – and will be compatible with most CPU heatsinks!

XMP 2.0 Support
Just set and go. Programmed with the latest Intel XMP 2.0 profiles, the only thing between you and extreme performance is a simple setting.

Limited Lifetime Warranty
All G.SKILL memory products come with a limited lifetime warranty and the G.SKILL technical team is always ready to provide consumers with complete technical support via online forum, Facebook, telephone, and email.

 

* Additional details available here

 

First Impressions

 

G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz-stacked

 

My first impressions of the G.Skill Ripjaws modules were very good, I must admit I do prefer my RAM to be black but I do understand that some people must prefer red depending on what sort of Rig they have set up. The modules feature black PCBs with gold contact points which I personally love more than the green PCBs. The modules are very light in weight, also, remember that I just reviewed the Crucial Ballistix Elite DDR4 2666MHz 16GB Kit which were armour plated and super heavy, so I might need to readjust a bit. The modules are only 40mm in height so you should not have any problems with clearance issues when using air based CPU Coolers.

 

G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz - front G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz - back

 

Looking at the front of the G.Skill Ripjaws module you can see the amount of design that has gone into them. Although I don’t like red as I said earlier but I can see it works with the design that they have gone for here. The modules are fiery and they are going to tear away at the speeds of your gaming (pcG staff getting carried away here!) is the type of look that the Ripjaws modules has. The metal casing is also very well embossed and as I am a very tactile person the modules are very nice to handle. Apart from all these design features we have a sticker which sits bang in the middle of the modules with the same G.Skill Ripjaws 4 logo and design as the main box.

The back of the modules are the same as the front albeit we have a warranty and specification sticker on top of the main sticker which features the product code and specifications of the RAM.

 

G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz - all front G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz - all back

 

The top of the modules have that signature Ripjaws jagged design to them with the heatspreader opening up exposing the PCB inside. Contrary to what I thought earlier I can already see that there is no illumination here! 🙁

 

Hardware Installation

 

To install the G.Skill Ripjaws modules could not be easier and it is basically the same as installing any other memory modules. Just line up the slot in the connector to the motherboard DIMM slot and carefully push into place. We are also using a Corsair Hydro Series H110i GT AIO water cooler during our testing as the Intel Core i7-5820K is a large and warm CPU, plus the fact that this avoids any clearance issues.

 

G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz - installed above G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz - installed angle

 

The G.Skill Ripjaws memory is a quad kit so you will need to insert two modules in each side of the motherboard, this will take full advantage of the X99’s quad channel setup. As you can see in the photos we inserted the modules into slots A1, B1, C1 and D1 on our ASRock Fatal1ty X99X Killer test motherboard. As stated in the instruction book for this motherboard the modules do need to be fitted into these slots and not A2, B2, C2 and D2, this maybe different for other motherboards but in this case this is the correct procedure.

 

G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz - installed side G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz - installed side angle

 

  • Test Rig Setup


Case Cooler Master HAF XB Power Supply Corsair AX760i
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty X99X Killer / 3.1 CPU Intel Core i7-5830K
CPU Cooler Corsair Hydro Series H110i GT RAM G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit
Graphics Card XFX R9 290X Black DD Edition SSD HyperX FURY 120GB SSD

 

The Test Rig booted without any problems and after an initial boot I went into the ASRock UEFI to look at the settings for the G.Skill Ripjaws module’s. As you can see in the screenshot below the four modules were in the correct RAM slots of A1, B1, C1 and D1, but, they were running at the out of the box frequency of 1866MHz and not they’re maximum of 2400MHz.

 

ASRock Fatal1ty X99X - Load Optimized Defaults

 

Next I went into the ASRock UEFI OC Tweaker and Enabled the Load 4 GHz and ZMP OC Settings as all of our testing is done at 4GHz, this will also enable the G.Skill Ripjaws RAM to run at its XMP (Profile 1) setting of 2400MHz with timings of 15-15-15-35. You can see the two settings that were changed in the photos below.

ASRock Fatal1ty X99X - Load 4GHz with XMP ASRock Fatal1ty X99X - XMP Profile 1

 

Looking at the screenshot below you can see the end result with the CPU now running at 4.0GHz and the G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 RAM now running at its XMP (Profile 1) setting of 2400MHz. Let’s get down to the nitty-gritty and see how the test go…

 

ASRock Fatal1ty X99X - Overclocked

 

Testing Methodology/Setup

 

The G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit was tested on our new X99 based platform shown above, using Windows 7 64Bit (Service Pack 1) with all relevant Drivers installed. Prime95 (Blend) was used to test stability and the following benchmarks were also used.

 

Hardware Performance

 

AIDA64 - G.Skill Ripjaws 2400MHz

G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit (15-15-15-35)

 

  • AIDA64 Benchmark Results
  • Memory Type Platform Read Write Copy Latency
    Patriot Viper DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit @ 15-15-15-35 DDR4 X99 40550 37050 45891 71.9 ns
    G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit @ 15-15-15-35 DDR4 X99 40502 36974 45615 72.0 ns
    Crucial Ballistix Elite DDDR4 2666MHz 16GB Kit @ 16-17-17-36 DDR4 X99 35829 19186 32148 73.9 ns
    Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 2133MHz 16GB Kit @ 9-11-11-31 DDR3 Z97 32180 33437 31298 48.9 ns
    HyperX Savage DDR3 2400MHz 8GB @ 11-13-14-32 DDR3 Z97 33409 34811 29523 48.9 ns
    Avexir Raiden Series DDR3 2133MHz 8GB Kit @ 9-11-10-27 DDR3 Z97 30478 31445 28178 48.9 ns

     

    I have left the DDR3 RAM in the benchmark results table for comparison purposes as obviously much has changed here (new MB, new CPU and obviously new RAM). But of course one would hope that the X99 based platform with the G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 memory would perform better! But no it does not, there’s fluctuations in the results but all are really down to the change in Drivers (over time) and or just the margin of error.

    Looking at the results for the AIDA64 memory benchmark you can see that the G.Skill Ripjaws performs virtually the same as the Patriot Viper DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit. This is due to both sets of modules being a 16GB Quad Kit with the same memory timings and running at the same speed. When compared to the Crucial Ballistix Elite DDR4 2666MHz 16GB Kit though you can see a big difference, this is down to the X99’s utilisation of quad channel memory. Basically more memory is being accessed at any one time with the quad setup than is with the dual setup. How does all this translate into Gaming, let’s take a look…

     

  • Gaming Related Benchmarks
  •  

    Compared to the Patriot Viper DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit the G.Skill Ripjaws modules are faster in some results and slower in others. The results are as follows: 3D Mark is 3% higher, Batman is 2% slower, Tomb Raider is 3% higher, Unigine is 4% slower and Metro Last Light is 2% higher (all these percentages are approximate). These numbers are of course only small percentages when translated into Gaming, logically you are not going to see or feel any difference at the end of the day…

     

    TEST SYSTEM: ASRock Fatal1ty X99X Killer/ Intel Core i7-5820K/ XFX R9 290X Black DD Edition

    Memory 3DMark (FireStrike) Batman Arkham Origins Tomb Raider Unigine Heaven Metro Last Light
    HyperX Savage DDR3 2400MHz 8GB 9593 178 87.9 1422 81
    Patriot Viper DDR4 2400MHz 16GB 10421 169 88.4 1411 79.67
    Crucial Ballistix Elite DDDR4 2666MHz 16GB 10690 169 92.4 1379 80.56
    G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB 10704 165 91.2 1356 81.58

     

    Does more memory (over 8GB), or faster memory mean you will get better FPS in Games? No, not really. But, as you can see from the figures you will not get less with the G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16BG Kit which is obviously very important. What it really comes down to is the aesthetics of the memory modules, do you want red or black? Do you want illumination? What sort of kit do you want to get that will match your Gaming Rig, what will give it that Wow Factor! Well if you want fast red well designed memory modules then as you can see the G.Skill Ripjaws Kit is a good match for you…

     

    Final Thoughts

     

    The G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit brings fast memory to your Gaming Rig along with that fiery red aggressive design, this memory module kit certainly makes a statement! 🙂

    The G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit arrived at pcG in an exciting black box with a cool matte and shiny finish to it. Once opened the quad kit is revealed in a separate plaster blister which was very easy to open and with a little sticker to adorn your desk or Gaming Rig.

    The G.Skill Ripjaws modules are very exciting to look at when compared to most other memory kits. I am not a fan of red modules but I have to admit a lot of work and design has gone into these to make them aesthetically pleasing to not only the eye but also the touch. The black PCB and red heatspreader cover accentuate each other very well and I am pleased to see that G.Skill went this extra mile to make their modules look this good. The tops of the modules are especially cool with jagged cover exposing the PCB underneath it, but, something is missing… ILLUMINATION! I really thought from the glowing fiery design of the box and the exposed top of the module’s that we would have some LED lighting here, but, alas no, this would have set these modules on a far higher plane in my opinion, come on G.Skill. 🙁

    So we know that the G.Skill Ripjaws Kit brings us great design (albeit no illumination, okay I will stop now!) but how did it fare in our gaming benchmarks. Compared to the Patriot Viper DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit which is the only other quad DDR4 Kit that we have tested there is not much in it (3D Mark is 3% higher, Batman is 2% slower, Tomb Raider is 3% higher, Unigine is 4% slower and Metro Last Light is 2% higher). You will not feel a discernible difference between these two sets of modules apart from how they look in your Gaming Rig really, but, I do think for the money that the G.Skill Ripjaws Kit wins on the design front.

    The G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit is a great purchase for your X99 or new Z170 platform. The modules were easy to install in both my Gaming Rig and easy to configure in the ASRock UEFI and I encountered no stability issues at all during Gaming, great performance all round. I really loved the design of the modules but would have been full of admiration for G.Skill if they would have given us some sort of illumination…

     

    Verdict

    Please Share, Like & Comment below, we really value your thoughts and opinions…



    Where possible we always use Amazon’s price for Value…
      Design/Quality pcGameware awards the G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2400MHz 16GB Kit a Silver
    Performance
    Value
    Overall

     

    Many thanks to G.Skill for providing this sample for review

     


    1. August 3rd, 2015 at 20:05 | #1

      I need technical details from SPD retrieved by Thaiphoon Burner software! If you do not remove heatspreaders for you articles then I would recommend using this application.